Thu, Nov 05 | Online Event

Impact of Covid-19 on remittances: The next chapter

New remittance data update from The World Bank
Registration is Open

Time & Location

Nov 05, 2020, 1:00 PM – 2:15 PM GMT
Online Event

About the Event

REGISTER HERE !

In April 2020, the World Bank estimated that remittances would fall by 20 percent in low and middle-income countries. The projected fall, which could be the sharpest decline in recent history, is largely due to a fall in the wages and employment of migrant workers, who tend to be more vulnerable to loss of employment and wages during an economic crisis in a host country.  During this webinar, Dilip Ratha will share updated data on remittances from The World Bank. We will also discuss with Peter De Caluwe and Andy Jury what accessible, fast and reliable payment solutions means in emerging markets. What are the opportunities and barriers they must face while increasing availability to financial services across their network. How is it to maintain a profitable business but at the same time keep it attractive for others to partner, to operate on small margins, high volumes and high frequency.  

REGISTER HERE! 

PANELISTS: 

  • Dilip Ratha - The World Bank 
  • Peter De Caluwe - Thunes 
  • Andy Jury - Mukuru  

DATE: Thursday, 5th November 2020  

TIME: 

  • 08:00 (EST) Washington DC 
  • 13:00 (GMT) London 
  • 21:00 (SGT) Singapore

Share This Event

©2020  IAMTN - International Association of Money Transfer Networks. 

All Rights Reserved - Terms & Conditions - Privacy policy - Cookie policy